Armenian Church in Germany

The Diocese of the Armenian Apostolic Church in Germany was founded in 1991 with a kondak (encyclical) of His Holiness Wasken I, Catholicos of All Armenians. It is part of the Armenian Apostolic Church and is under the jurisdiction of the Catholicate of All Armenians in Surb Etchmiadzin.

Historical review

In the 1930s about 700 Armenians lived in Germany. Archarchimandrite Grigor Shahlamian, who came to Germany in 1922 as a theology student, was the first Armenian clergyman to take up pastoral work in Germany in the 20th century. After completing his studies, he looked after the local Armenians from Berlin from 1926 to 1945 and then from Stuttgart until his death on February 21, 1952. Between 1945 and 1948 another Armenian clergyman, Archpriest Vahan Askarian, also served as parish priest in Stuttgart and Esslingen. After the death of Archarchimandrite Shahlamian, the Armenians remained without a permanent parish priest until 1965. Nevertheless, they were ecclesiastically organized under the jurisdiction of the Patriarchal Delegate for Western Europe, based in Paris, who, at the request of the Armenians, occasionally sent an Armenian cleric from Paris to Germany.

In 1965 the future primate of the diocese of the Armenian Church in Germany, Archbishop Karekin Bekdjian, at that time still an archimandrite, came to Germany as a student, where he stayed until 1972. During this time, with the permission of the Patriarchal Delegate for Western Europe and at the request of the local Armenians, he celebrated services in Cologne, Stuttgart, Hamburg, Frankfurt and in some other cities in Germany. Parallel to him and also afterwards, the Viennese archarchimandrite Mesrop Grigorian often visited Germany and celebrated church services mainly in Berlin. During this period, the Armenians began to form their own community structures in Germany. By order of the Catholicos of All Armenians, SH Wasken I. (1955-1994), Archimandrite Karekin Nersisian (today Supreme Patriarch and Catholicos of All Armenians) came to Germany in 1975 and took over the pastoral care of the Armenians in the Armenians until his return to Armenia in 1978 federal republic. After him Archimandrite Hagop Keledjian (today Archbishop, Primate of the Armenian Church in Uruguay) came to Germany, who looked after the local Armenian communities between 1978 and 1983.

On January 2, 1980, Wasken I. issued an official encyclical placing the Armenian parishes in Germany under the jurisdiction of the newly dispatched Patriarchal Delegate for Central Europe (Austria, Germany, Scandinavian countries) based in Vienna. Since then also Archarchimandrite Vazken Tatoyan (1980–1984, deceased), Bishop Davit Sahagian as visiting priest (1983–1985, deceased), Archparish Hagop Geuktchian (1986–1998, deceased), Archimandrite Komitas Hovnanyan (1987–1999, now in France) the pastoral work for the Armenians in Germany.

In 1992, the then Supreme Patriarch and Catholicos of All Armenians, Wasken I, also founded a diocese in the Federal Republic of Germany with its headquarters in Cologne through an official encyclical, which was presided over by Archbishop Karekin Bekdjian. Five other clergymen worked alongside him. In addition to the diocese, there are also other associations and communities in Germany, some cultural (about 20) and some religious (about 15). These latter are subordinate to the Diocese of the Armenian Church in Germany, which organizes their cooperation. A diocesan plan based on the canonical regulations and the democratic administration of the Armenian Church was developed.

After the retirement of Archbishop Karekin Bekdjian in January 2018, HH Archimandrite Serovpé Isakhanyan was elected the new primate of the Armenian Diocese in Germany on Sunday, April 15, 2018, by the extraordinarily convened diocesan delegates' assembly in Cologne. He was ordained bishop on May 12, 2019.

Historical review

In the 1930s about 700 Armenians lived in Germany. Archarchimandrite Grigor Shahlamian, who came to Germany in 1922 as a theology student, was the first Armenian clergyman to take up pastoral work in Germany in the 20th century. After completing his studies, he looked after the local Armenians from Berlin from 1926 to 1945 and then from Stuttgart until his death on February 21, 1952. Between 1945 and 1948 another Armenian clergyman, Archpriest Vahan Askarian, also served as parish priest in Stuttgart and Esslingen. After the death of Archarchimandrite Shahlamian, the Armenians remained without a permanent parish priest until 1965. Nevertheless, they were ecclesiastically organized under the jurisdiction of the Patriarchal Delegate for Western Europe, based in Paris, who, at the request of the Armenians, occasionally sent an Armenian cleric from Paris to Germany.

In 1965 the future primate of the diocese of the Armenian Church in Germany, Archbishop Karekin Bekdjian, at that time still an archimandrite, came to Germany as a student, where he stayed until 1972. During this time, with the permission of the Patriarchal Delegate for Western Europe and at the request of the local Armenians, he celebrated services in Cologne, Stuttgart, Hamburg, Frankfurt and in some other cities in Germany. Parallel to him and also afterwards, the Viennese archarchimandrite Mesrop Grigorian often visited Germany and celebrated church services mainly in Berlin. During this period, the Armenians began to form their own community structures in Germany. By order of the Catholicos of All Armenians, SH Wasken I. (1955-1994), Archimandrite Karekin Nersisian (today Supreme Patriarch and Catholicos of All Armenians) came to Germany in 1975 and took over the pastoral care of the Armenians in the Armenians until his return to Armenia in 1978 federal republic. After him Archimandrite Hagop Keledjian (today Archbishop, Primate of the Armenian Church in Uruguay) came to Germany, who looked after the local Armenian communities between 1978 and 1983.

On January 2, 1980, Wasken I. issued an official encyclical placing the Armenian parishes in Germany under the jurisdiction of the newly dispatched Patriarchal Delegate for Central Europe (Austria, Germany, Scandinavian countries) based in Vienna. Since then also Archarchimandrite Vazken Tatoyan (1980–1984, deceased), Bishop Davit Sahagian as visiting priest (1983–1985, deceased), Archparish Hagop Geuktchian (1986–1998, deceased), Archimandrite Komitas Hovnanyan (1987–1999, now in France) the pastoral work for the Armenians in Germany.

In 1992, the then Supreme Patriarch and Catholicos of All Armenians, Wasken I, also founded a diocese in the Federal Republic of Germany with its headquarters in Cologne through an official encyclical, which was presided over by Archbishop Karekin Bekdjian. Five other clergymen worked alongside him. In addition to the diocese, there are also other associations and communities in Germany, some cultural (about 20) and some religious (about 15). These latter are subordinate to the Diocese of the Armenian Church in Germany, which organizes their cooperation. A diocesan plan based on the canonical regulations and the democratic administration of the Armenian Church was developed.

After the retirement of Archbishop Karekin Bekdjian in January 2018, HH Archimandrite Serovpé Isakhanyan was elected the new primate of the Armenian Diocese in Germany on Sunday, April 15, 2018, by the extraordinarily convened diocesan delegates' assembly in Cologne. He was ordained bishop on May 12, 2019.

diocesan bodies

The main organs of the diocese are the Diocesan Delegates' Assembly (DDV) and the Diocesan Advisory Board (DB). The DDV is the highest parliamentary and legislative body of the diocese. All parishes have at least one and at most ten elected secular delegates. The number depends on the number of parishioners. One delegate is elected for every 50 members. The primate and the clergy of the diocese are also members of the DDV, but the clergy may not make up more than ten percent of the total. Delegates are elected for a three-year term and may be re-elected.

The diocesan advisory board with its eight secular members is the executive body of the diocese. The primate is a voting member of the diocesan advisory council by virtue of his office. The members of the diocesan advisory board are elected by the DDV for a term of three years and may be re-elected. The primate of the diocese is the honorary chairman of the DDV and the diocesan advisory board.

The congregations at the local level and the diocese at the federal level are members of the Working Group of Christian Churches (ACK). The ACK is an ecumenical institution in which a wide variety of religious, church and social issues and challenges are discussed and advised. She also organizes joint ecumenical services, conferences and events.

The Bishop, as understood by the Armenian Apostolic Church, is a successor to the Apostles in the administration and service of the Church. He bears responsibility for maintaining the worldwide unity of the church by preserving the truth and unity of faith and practice in his own diocese.

The diocesan bishop is the official delegate of the Catholicos of All Armenians in Germany. Together with the secular chairman of the diocesan assembly of delegates or the chairman of the diocesan advisory board, he represents the diocese and the Armenian congregations affiliated with it towards the German state, political, church and religious institutions and towards the Republic of Armenia and its representatives in the Federal Republic of Germany.

HE Bishop Serovpé Isakhanyan

The Diocesan Delegates Assembly (DDV) is the supreme legislative body of the diocese. It meets at least once a year. Members of the DDV are the primate, the diocesan delegates of the parishes, the chairmen of the parishes, the clergy of the diocese. Any member of the diocese can be elected as a DDV delegate after at least one year of membership.

Tasks and powers of the DDV include the election of the diocesan bishop, the decree and the amendment of the statutes of the diocese. For example, the DDV decides on the budget of the diocese and regulates the use of membership fees, etc.

The DDV elects a presidium from among its members, which conducts and records the meetings impartially and fairly. The Presiding Committee safeguards the dignity and rights of the DDV and exercises domiciliary rights in the meeting rooms during conferences.

The Diocesan Advisory Council (DB) is the executive body of the diocese. It consists of 9 to 11 secular and spiritual members. The number of spiritual DB members, including primates, must not exceed one third of the total number of DB members. The primate (diocesan bishop) is a voting member and honorary chairman of the DB by virtue of his office. All other DB members are elected by the DDV for a 3-year term.

The duties and powers of the DB include the administration of the activities of the diocese in collaboration with the primate. She decides on the acceptance of applications from new parishes to join the diocese and is responsible for establishing diocesan ecclesiastical, charitable, social and youth work committees with the aim of making the activities of the diocese and the Armenian parishes more productive and fruitful . The DB is also responsible for implementing the resolutions of the DDV.

The Church Council of the Armenian Church in Germany consists of the clergy serving in the diocese. The tasks and powers of the parish council are:

a) overseeing the unadulterated preservation of the doctrine and traditions of the Armenian Church within the diocese; b) The examination of questions pertaining to the spiritual life and its structure and development; c) examining those questions of a religious character that have negative effects in the communities; d) exploring ways to create religious and ecclesial vitality in communities and deepen ecumenical relationships; e) publication of literature necessary for Christian upbringing and formation; f) The formation of an ecclesiastical committee to review complaints made against clergy.

priest

Archimandrite Yeghische Avetisyan

Parish Pastor for East Germany and Berlin

Rev. Dr. Diradur Sardaryan

Parish priest for Baden-Württemberg

Rev. Gnel Gabrielyan

Parish priest in Hesse & southern Rhineland-Palatinate

Rev. Aygik Hovhannisyan

parish priest for Bavaria

Rev. Hratsch Biliciyan

Parish Pastor for Northern Germany

Rev. Vahridj Baghdasaryan

Parish priest in Cologne and the surrounding area

deacons

Deacon Arman Pilibosyan
Deacon Murat Kabaradjian
Deacon Bedros Garinyan
Deacon Kevork Babasiz
Deacon Hacub Sahinian

Deacon Harutyun Karagulyan
Deacon Garbis Karakavaf
Deacon Simon Halkacioglu
Deacon Kevork Senyar
Deacon Sayat Boyacian

Deacon Ara Öznakasiyan
Deacon Vahe Tascilar
Deacon Grigor Grigoryan
Deacon Heik Kotscharian
Deacon Stephen Haroutunian
Deacon Faskin Ghazaryan

subdeacons

Arman Susluyan
Hacik Bilibozoglu
Varujan Demircioglu
Hazaros Guleryan

dr theol. Hacik Gazer
Christopher Bedikian
Avedis Garinyan
Garo Aroyan

departments

Faith, Mission & Ecumenism Department
Leader: NN
Email: ref1 (at) dakd.de

The Faith, Mission & Ecumenism department has a wide range of tasks. Basic theological questions, current questions of social interaction, ecumenism, ethics, tasks in the field of journalism and community development are located here.

Department of Education
Leader: NN
Email: ref2 (at) dakd.de

The Education Department is responsible for education issues. It includes the areas of catechesis, religious instruction, Saturday or Sunday schools, training and further education of church servants and employees, advice and support for students, extracurricular educational measures in the area of children, youth and adult education.

Art & Culture department
Leader: NN
Email: ref3 (at) dakd.de

Art and culture are renamed and inseparable parts of church life. The Art & Culture department provides the building and art requirements to enable and guarantee the diverse missionary work of the church. The department is responsible for the conceptual support and promotion of the cultural projects of the parishes and church institutions. Church music is also located here.

Deaconry & Social Affairs
Leader: NN
Email: ref4 (at) dakd.de

Church social service is nothing more than putting the faith of our church into practice. The department is responsible for the diaconal and social service of the diocese of the Armenian Church in Germany. It is in the service of the people here in Germany and tries as far as possible to do its service in the field of development aid.

Press & Public Relations Department
Leader: Deacon Sayad Boyacian
Email: ref5 (at) dakd.de

Information, communication and presentation of the diocese of the Armenian Church in Germany, advising its parishes and church institutions internally and externally are the most important tasks of the department for press and public relations.

Finance & Real Estate Department
Leader: NN
Email: ref6 (at) dakd.de

The Finance & Real Estate Department is responsible for financial and asset management within the diocese. She also advises the Armenian parishes and church institutions of the diocese on planning and controlling.

Support the Armenian Church in Germany
and your local church community with your membership fee.
Get active now!

APPLY FOR MEMBERSHIP NOW

Our communities

Armenian Holy Cross Church
Lerchenberger Str. 48, 73035 GÖPPINGEN

Parish Office & Post:
Armenian Community of Baden-Württemberg eV
Lerchenbergerstrasse 52, 73035 Goeppingen
Phone: 07161/8084717; Fax: 07161/8084709
Email: bw@dakd.de
www.agbw.org

Armenian community Bebra eV
c/o Mr. Jaraeir Khajo, Chairman
To the fisherman's farm 13
36199 Rotenburg ad Fulda
Tel: 06623 3009539
Email: bebra@dakd.de

Church: Epiphany Church Vilsendorf
Vilsendorfer Strasse 230, 33739 Bielefeld

Post: Armenian Community Bielefeld eV
c/o Anayit Turanoglu
Ennigerloherstr. 50, 59302 OELDE
Phone: 02522/61484; Fax: 02522/8962036
Email: bielefeld@dakd.de
www.armenier-bielefeld.de

Church: St. Michaelis
Echternstr. 12, 38100 BRUNSWICK

Post: Armenian Community Braunschweig eV
c/o Mr Ohannes KALUSTIAN
Im Emmerfeld 31, 38122 Braunschweig
Phone: 0531/85137
Email: braunschweig@dakd.de

Church: St Pius Church
Willakedamm 6, 28259 BREMEN

Post: Armenian community Bremen eV
Kirchhuchtinger Landstrasse 137, 28259 BREMEN
Phone: 0421/84001871
Email: bremen@dakd.de

Post: Armenian community in the Ruhr area (Duisburg) eV
c/o Mr. Matevos Davtyan
Schlagelstr. 67, 46045 Oberhausen
Tel:0157/83454518
Email: duisburg@dakd.de

Church: gospel Church
parish street 5, 35435 Wettenberg

Post: Armenian Community Giessen eV
c/o Abraham ABRAHAMIAN
Schubertstr. 3, 35440 Linden
Phone: 06403/71197
Email: giessen@dakd.de
www.a-rm.de

Church: Wall.-Dutch Church
French Allee, 63450 HANAU

Parish Office & Post:
Armenian Community Hessen eV
long street 96-98, 63450 Hanau
Email: hanau@dakd.de
www.a-rm.de

Church: St. Maria Church
Heidenstrasse 1, 77694 KEHL

Post: Armenian Community Kehl eV
PO Box 1126, 77621 KEHL
Phone: 07851/72821
Email: kehl@dakd.de

Armenian Church Surp Sahag-Mesrop
Allensteinerstr. 5, 50735 COLOGNE

Post: Armenian community Cologne eV
Allensteiner Str. 5, 50735 COLOGNE
Phone: 0221/32018950
Email: koeln@dakd.de
www.armenischegemeindekoeln.de

Church: Altmunster Church
Muensterstr. 25, 55116 MAINZ

Post: Armenian Community Mainz eV
c/o Mr. Zaven ASA
Goldbrunnengasse 7-9, 55116 Mainz
Phone: 0176/3 254 53 05
Email: mainz@dakd.de
www.a-rm.de

Church: St Anna
Damenstiftstr. 1, 80331 MUNICH

Post: Armenian Community Munich eV
c/o Mrs. Silva GHOKAS
Ichardinger Str. 45, 81671 Munich
Phone: 089/68008180
Email: muenchen@dakd.de

Church: St. Boniface
Kurt-Schumacher-Str. 3, 56567 Neuwied

Post: Armenian community Neuwied eV
PO Box 130206, 56534 Neuwied
Phone: 02632/934536
Email: neuwied@dakd.de

Church: Christ Church
Siemensplatz 2, 90443 NUREMBERG

Post: Armenian community Nuremberg eV
c/o Mrs. Dr. Margaret ASSOIAN-LINK
Am Vogelherd 2, 91080 UTTENREUTH
Phone: 09131/54429, fax: 09131/54677
Email: nuernberg@dakd.de
www.armenier-nuernberg.de

Armenian Church of Sb. Harutyun
Alfred-Reinhardt-Str. 8, 06132 HALLE/SAALE

Post: Armenian Community Saxony-Anhalt eV
Alfred-Reinhardt-Str. 8, 06132 HALLE/SAALE
Phone: 0345/5163022; Fax: 0345/5163024
Email: halle@dakd.de

Church: Luisenkirche
Gierkeplatz 4, 10585 BERLIN CHARLOT

Post: Armenian church and cultural community Berlin eV
Behaimstr. 22, 10585 BERLIN
Phone: 030/34508607/8; Fax: 030/34508609
Email: berlin@dakd.de
www.armenierberlin.de

write us

[contact-form-7 404 "Not Found"]

Armenische Kirche in Deutschland

Die Diözese der Armenischen Apostolischen Kirche in Deutschland wurde 1991 mit einem Kondak (Enzyklika) Seiner Heiligkeit Wasken I., Katholikos Aller Armenier, gegründet. Sie ist Teil der Armenischen Apostolischen Kirche und untersteht der Jurisdiktion des Katholikats Aller Armenier in Surb Etschmiadzin.

Geschichtlicher Rückblick

In den 1930er Jahren lebten etwa 700 Armenier in Deutschland. Der erste armenische Geistliche, der im 20. Jahrhundert in Deutschland seine seelsorgerische Tätigkeit aufnahm, war Erzarchimandrit Grigor Shahlamian, der 1922 als Theologiestudent nach Deutschland kam. Nach seinem Studium betreute er die ansässigen Armenier von 1926 bis 1945 von Berlin aus und danach bis zu seinem Tod am 21. Februar 1952 von Stuttgart aus. Zwischen 1945 und 1948 war auch ein anderer armenischer Geistlicher, Erzpfarrer Vahan Askarian, als Gemeindepfarrer in Stuttgart und Esslingen tätig. Nach dem Ableben von Erzarchimandrit Shahlamian blieben die Armenier bis 1965 ohne ständigen Gemeindepfarrer. Dennoch waren sie kirchlich unter der Jurisdiktion des Patriarchal-Delegats für Westeuropa mit Sitz in Paris organisiert, der auf Bitten der Armenier gelegentlich einen armenischen Geistlichen aus Paris nach Deutschland schickte.

1965 kam der spätere Primas der Diözese der Armenischen Kirche in Deutschland, Erzbischof Karekin Bekdjian, damals noch Archimandrit, als Student nach Deutschland, wo er bis 1972 blieb. In dieser Zeit feierte er mit Genehmigung des Patriarchal-Delegats für Westeuropa und auf Wunsch der hier ansässigen Armenier Gottesdienste in Köln, Stuttgart, Hamburg, Frankfurt und in einigen anderen Städten Deutschlands. Parallel zu ihm und ebenso danach besuchte auch der Wiener Erzarchimandrit Mesrop Grigorian oft Deutschland und zelebrierte Gottesdienste hauptsächlich in Berlin. In diesem Zeitraum begannen die Armenier, in Deutschland eigene Gemeindestrukturen zu bilden. Auf Anordnung des Katholikos Aller Armenier, S. H. Wasken I. (1955–1994), kam 1975 Archimandrit Karekin Nersisian (heute Oberster Patriarch und Katholikos Aller Armenier), nach Deutschland und übernahm bis zu seiner Rückkehr nach Armenien 1978 die seelsorgerische Betreuung der Armenier in der Bundesrepublik. Nach ihm kam Archimandrit Hagop Keledjian (heute Erzbischof, Primas der Armenischen Kirche in Uruguay) nach Deutschland, der zwischen 1978 und 1983 die hiesigen armenischen Gemeinden betreute.

Am 2. Januar 1980 stellte Wasken I. mit einer offiziellen Enzyklika die armenischen Kirchengemeinden in Deutschland unter die Jurisdiktion des neu entsandten Patriarchal-Delegats für Mitteleuropa (Österreich, Deutschland, Skandinavische Länder) mit Sitz in Wien. Seitdem nahmen auch Erzarchimandrit Vazken Tatoyan (1980–1984, verstorben), Bischof Davit Sahagian als Gastpfarrer (1983–1985, verstorben), Erzpfarrer Hagop Geuktchian (1986–1998, verstorben), Archimandrit Komitas Hovnanyan (1987–1999, heute in Frankreich) die seelsorgerische Tätigkeit für die Armenier in Deutschland wahr.

1992 hat der damalige Oberste Patriarch und Katholikos Aller Armenier Wasken I. durch eine offizielle Enzyklika auch eine Diözese in der Bundesrepublik Deutschland mit Sitz in Köln gegründet, der Erzbischof Karekin Bekdjian vorstand. Neben ihm waren fünf weitere Geistliche tätig. Über die Diözese hinaus gibt es in Deutschland auch andere, teils kulturelle (etwa 20), teils kirchliche (etwa 15) Vereine bzw. Gemeinden. Diese letzteren unterstehen der Diözese der Armenischen Kirche in Deutschland, die deren Zusammenarbeit organisiert. Es wurde eine Diözesansatzung auf Grund der kanonischen Ordnungen und der demokratischen Verwaltung der Armenischen Kirche erarbeitet.

Nach der Emeritierung von Erzbischof Karekin Bekdjian im Januar 2018 wurde H. H. Archimandrit Serovpé Isakhanyan am Sonntag, 15. April 2018, durch die außerordentlich einberufene Diözesan-Delegierten-Versammlung in Köln, zum neuen Primas der Armenischen Diözese in Deutschland gewählt. Er wurde am 12. Mai 2019 zum Bischof geweiht.

Geschichtlicher Rückblick

In den 1930er Jahren lebten etwa 700 Armenier in Deutschland. Der erste armenische Geistliche, der im 20. Jahrhundert in Deutschland seine seelsorgerische Tätigkeit aufnahm, war Erzarchimandrit Grigor Shahlamian, der 1922 als Theologiestudent nach Deutschland kam. Nach seinem Studium betreute er die ansässigen Armenier von 1926 bis 1945 von Berlin aus und danach bis zu seinem Tod am 21. Februar 1952 von Stuttgart aus. Zwischen 1945 und 1948 war auch ein anderer armenischer Geistlicher, Erzpfarrer Vahan Askarian, als Gemeindepfarrer in Stuttgart und Esslingen tätig. Nach dem Ableben von Erzarchimandrit Shahlamian blieben die Armenier bis 1965 ohne ständigen Gemeindepfarrer. Dennoch waren sie kirchlich unter der Jurisdiktion des Patriarchal-Delegats für Westeuropa mit Sitz in Paris organisiert, der auf Bitten der Armenier gelegentlich einen armenischen Geistlichen aus Paris nach Deutschland schickte.

1965 kam der spätere Primas der Diözese der Armenischen Kirche in Deutschland, Erzbischof Karekin Bekdjian, damals noch Archimandrit, als Student nach Deutschland, wo er bis 1972 blieb. In dieser Zeit feierte er mit Genehmigung des Patriarchal-Delegats für Westeuropa und auf Wunsch der hier ansässigen Armenier Gottesdienste in Köln, Stuttgart, Hamburg, Frankfurt und in einigen anderen Städten Deutschlands. Parallel zu ihm und ebenso danach besuchte auch der Wiener Erzarchimandrit Mesrop Grigorian oft Deutschland und zelebrierte Gottesdienste hauptsächlich in Berlin. In diesem Zeitraum begannen die Armenier, in Deutschland eigene Gemeindestrukturen zu bilden. Auf Anordnung des Katholikos Aller Armenier, S. H. Wasken I. (1955–1994), kam 1975 Archimandrit Karekin Nersisian (heute Oberster Patriarch und Katholikos Aller Armenier), nach Deutschland und übernahm bis zu seiner Rückkehr nach Armenien 1978 die seelsorgerische Betreuung der Armenier in der Bundesrepublik. Nach ihm kam Archimandrit Hagop Keledjian (heute Erzbischof, Primas der Armenischen Kirche in Uruguay) nach Deutschland, der zwischen 1978 und 1983 die hiesigen armenischen Gemeinden betreute.

Am 2. Januar 1980 stellte Wasken I. mit einer offiziellen Enzyklika die armenischen Kirchengemeinden in Deutschland unter die Jurisdiktion des neu entsandten Patriarchal-Delegats für Mitteleuropa (Österreich, Deutschland, Skandinavische Länder) mit Sitz in Wien. Seitdem nahmen auch Erzarchimandrit Vazken Tatoyan (1980–1984, verstorben), Bischof Davit Sahagian als Gastpfarrer (1983–1985, verstorben), Erzpfarrer Hagop Geuktchian (1986–1998, verstorben), Archimandrit Komitas Hovnanyan (1987–1999, heute in Frankreich) die seelsorgerische Tätigkeit für die Armenier in Deutschland wahr.

1992 hat der damalige Oberste Patriarch und Katholikos Aller Armenier Wasken I. durch eine offizielle Enzyklika auch eine Diözese in der Bundesrepublik Deutschland mit Sitz in Köln gegründet, der Erzbischof Karekin Bekdjian vorstand. Neben ihm waren fünf weitere Geistliche tätig. Über die Diözese hinaus gibt es in Deutschland auch andere, teils kulturelle (etwa 20), teils kirchliche (etwa 15) Vereine bzw. Gemeinden. Diese letzteren unterstehen der Diözese der Armenischen Kirche in Deutschland, die deren Zusammenarbeit organisiert. Es wurde eine Diözesansatzung auf Grund der kanonischen Ordnungen und der demokratischen Verwaltung der Armenischen Kirche erarbeitet.

Nach der Emeritierung von Erzbischof Karekin Bekdjian im Januar 2018 wurde H. H. Archimandrit Serovpé Isakhanyan am Sonntag, 15. April 2018, durch die außerordentlich einberufene Diözesan-Delegierten-Versammlung in Köln, zum neuen Primas der Armenischen Diözese in Deutschland gewählt. Er wurde am 12. Mai 2019 zum Bischof geweiht.

Gremien der Diözese

Die Hauptorgane der Diözese sind die Diözesan-Delegierten-Versammlung (DDV) und der Diözesanbeirat (DB). Die DDV ist das höchste parlamentarische und legislative Organ der Diözese. Alle Kirchengemeinden haben wenigstens einen und höchstens zehn gewählte weltliche Delegierte. Die Zahl hängt von der Gemeindemitgliederzahl ab. Pro 50 Mitglieder wird ein Delegierter gewählt. Der Primas und die Geistlichen der Diözese sind auch Mitglied der DDV, allerdings darf der Anteil der Geistlichen zehn Prozent der Gesamtzahl nicht überschreiten. Die Delegierten werden für eine Amtszeit von drei Jahren gewählt und dürfen wiedergewählt werden.

Der Diözesanbeirat mit seinen acht weltlichen Mitgliedern ist das exekutive Organ der Diözese. Der Primas ist kraft seines Amtes stimmberechtigtes Mitglied des Diözesanbeirates. Die Mitglieder des Diözesanbeirats werden von der DDV für eine Amtszeit von drei Jahren gewählt und dürfen wiedergewählt werden. Der Primas der Diözese ist der Ehrenvorsitzende der DDV und des Diözesanbeirates.

Die Gemeinden auf Ortsebene und die Diözese auf Bundesebene sind Mitglied der Arbeitsgemeinschaft Christlicher Kirchen (ACK). Die ACK ist eine ökumenische Institution, in der über unterschiedlichste religiös-kirchliche sowie gesellschaftliche Themen und Herausforderungen diskutiert und beraten wird. Sie organisiert auch gemeinsame ökumenische Gottesdienste, Tagungen und Veranstaltungen.

Der Bischof ist im Verständnis der Armenischen Apostolischen Kirche ein Nachfolger der Apostel in der Verwaltung und dem Dienst an der Kirche. Er trägt die Verantwortung für die Aufrechterhaltung der weltweiten Einheit der Kirche durch die Bewahrung der Wahrheit und Einheit des Glaubens und der Praktiken in der eigenen Diözese.

Der Diözesanbischof ist offizieller Delegierter des Katholikos Aller Armenier in Deutschland. Er repräsentiert die Diözese und die ihr angeschlossenen armenischen Gemeinden, gemeinsam mit dem weltlichen Vorsitzenden der Diözesandelegiertenversammlung oder mit dem Vorsitzenden des Diözesanbeirats, gegenüber den deutschen staatlichen, politischen, kirchlichen und religiösen Institutionen sowie gegenüber der Republik Armenien und deren Vertretern in der Bundesrepublik Deutschland.

S. E. Bischof Serovpé Isakhanyan

Die Diözesan – Delegierten – Versammlung (DDV) ist das oberste legislative Organ der Diözese. Sie tagt mindestens einmal jährlich. Mitglieder der DDV sind der Primas, die Diözesandelegierten der Gemeinden, die Vorstandsvorsitzenden der Gemeinden, die Geistlichen der Diözese. Jedes Mitglied der Diözese kann, nach mindestens einem Jahr nach der Mitgliedschaft, als DDV-Delegierter gewählt werden.

Aufgaben und Befugnisse der DDV sind u.a. Wahl des Diözesanbischofs, der Erlass sowie Änderung der Satzung der Diözese. Die DDV beschließt beispielsweise den Haushaltsplan der Diözese und regelt die Verwendung der Mitgliedsbeiträge usw.

Die DDV wählt aus Ihrer Mitte ein Präsidium welches die Sitzungen unparteiisch und gerecht leitet und protokolliert. Das Präsidium wahrt die Würde und Rechte der DDV und übt während der Tagungen das Hausrecht in den Sitzungsräumen aus.

Der Diözesanbeirat (DB) ist das exekutive Organ der Diözese. Er besteht aus 9 bis 11 weltlichen und geistlichen Mitgliedern. Die Anzahl der geistlichen DB-Mitglieder, inklusive Primas, darf ein Drittel der Gesamtmitgliederzahl des DB nicht übersteigen. Der Primas (Diözesanbischof) ist kraft seines Amtes stimmberechtigtes Mitglied und Ehrenvorsitzender des DB. Alle anderen DB-Mitglieder werden durch die DDV für eine 3-jährige Amtszeit gewählt.

Die Aufgaben und Befugnisse des DB sind folgende u. a. die Verwaltung der Tätigkeit der Diözese in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Primas. Sie entscheidet über die Annahme von Anträgen neuer Gemeinden auf ihren Beitritt zur Diözese und ist zuständig für die Gründung von kirchlichen, wohltätigen, sozialen und auf Jugendarbeit zielenden Diözesan-Ausschüssen mit dem Ziel, die Tätigkeit der Diözese und der armenischen Gemeinden produktiver und fruchtbarer zu gestalten. Der DB ist außerdem für die Durchführung der Beschlüsse der DDV zuständig.

Der Kirchenrat der Armenischen Kirche in Deutschland besteht aus den in der Diözese dienenden Geistlichen. Aufgaben und Befugnisse des Kircehngemeinderates sind:

a) Aufsicht über die unverfälschte Bewahrung der Lehre und der Traditionen der Armenischen Kirche innerhalb der Diözese; b) Die Prüfung von Fragen, die das geistliche Leben und dessen Aufbau und Entwicklung betreffen; c) Prüfung von jenen Fragen religiösen Charakters, die in den Gemeinden negative Auswirkungen aufweisen; d) Prüfung von Möglichkeiten, um religiöse und kirchliche Lebendigkeit in den Gemeinden zu schaffen und die ökumenischen Beziehungen zu vertiefen; e) Veröffentlichung von Literatur, die notwendig für die christliche Erziehung und Bildung sind; f) Die Bildung eines kirchlichen Ausschusses zur Überprüfung von Beschwerden, die gegen Geistliche erhobenen werden.

Priester

Archimandrit Yeghische Avetisyan

Gemeindepfarrer für Ostdeutschland und Berlin

Pfr. Dr. Diradur Sardaryan

Gemeindepfarrer für Baden-Württemberg

Pfr. Gnel Gabrielyan

Gemeindepfarrer in Hessen & südl. Rheinland-Pfalz

Pfr. Aygik Hovhannisyan

Gemeindepfarrer für Bayern

Pfr. Hratsch Biliciyan

Gemeindepfarrer für Norddeutschland

Pfr. Vahridsch Baghdasaryan

Gemeindepfarrer in Köln und Umgebung

Diakone

Diakon Arman Pilibosjan
Diakon Murat Kabaradjian
Diakon Bedros Garinyan
Diakon Kevork Babasiz
Diakon Hacub Sahinian

Diakon Harutyun Karagülyan
Diakon Garbis Karakavaf
Diakon Simon Halkacioglu
Diakon Kevork Senyar
Diakon Sayat Boyacian

Diakon Ara Öznakasiyan
Diakon Vahe Tascilar
Diakon Grigor Grigoryan
Diakon Heik Kotscharian
Diakon Stephan Haroutunian
Diakon Faskin Ghazaryan

Subdiakone

Arman Süslüyan
Hacik Bilibozoglu
Varujan Demircioglu
Hazaros Güleryan

Dr. Theol. Hacik Gazer
Christopher Bedikian
Avedis Garinyan
Garo Aroyan

Referate

Referat Glaube, Mission & Ökumene
Leiter: N.N.
Email: ref1@dakd.de

Die Aufgaben des Referats Glaube, Mission & Ökumene sind breit gefächert. Theologische Grundsatzfragen, aktuelle Fragen des gesellschaftlichen Miteinanders, der Ökumene, der Ethik, Aufgaben im Bereich der Publizistik und der Gemeindeentwicklung sind hier angesiedelt.

Referat Bildung
Leiter: N.N.
E-Mail: ref2@dakd.de

Das Referat Bildung ist zuständig für Fragen der Bildung. Es umfasst die Bereiche Katechese, Religionsunterricht, Samstags- oder Sonntagsschulen, Aus-  und Weiterbildung der Kirchendiener und Mitarbeiter, Beratung & Unterstützung für Studierende, außerschulische Bildungsmaßnahmen im Bereich der Kinder-, Jugend- und Erwachsenenbildung.

Referat Kunst & Kultur
Leiter: N.N.
E-Mail: ref3@dakd.de

Kunst und Kultur sind umtitelbare und untrennbare Teile des kirchlichen Lebens. Das Referat Kunst & Kultur schaft bau- und kunstfachlichen Voraussetzungen um somit das vielfältige missionäre Wirken der Kirche zu ermöglichen und zu gewährleisten. Das Referat ist Zuständig für die konzeptionelle Unterstützung und Förderung der Kulturprojekte der Gemeinden und kirchlichen Einrichtungen. Hier ist auch die Kirchenmusik angesiedelt.

Referat Diakonie & Soziales
Leiter: N.N.
E-Mail: ref4@dakd.de

Der soziale Dienst der Kirche ist nichts anderes als Umsetzung des Glaubens unserer Kirche in die Tat. Das Referat ist zuständig für den diakonischen und sozialen Dienst der Diözese der Armenischen Kirche in Deutschland. Sie steht im Dienst der Menschen hier in Deutschland und versucht nach ihren Möglichkeiten ihren Dienst auch im Bereich der Entwicklungshilfe zu leisten.

Referat Presse & Öffentlichkeitsarbeit
Leiter: Diakon Sayad Boyacian
E-Mail: ref5@dakd.de

Information, Kommunikation und Präsentation der Diözese der Armenischen Kirche in Deutschland, die Beratung ihrer Kirchengemeinden und kirchlichen Einrichtungen nach innen und außen sind die wichtigsten Aufgabenfelder des Referats für Presse- und Öffentlichkeitsarbeit.

Referat Finanzen & Immobilien
Leiter: N.N.
E-Mail: ref6@dakd.de

Das Referat Finanzen & Immobilien ist innerhalb der Diözese für die Finanz- und Vermögensverwaltung zuständig. Sie berät bei der Planung & Controlling auch die armenischen Kirchengemeinden und kirchlichen Einrichtungen der Diözese.

Unterstützen Sie die Armenische Kirche in Deutschland
und ihre Kirchengemeinde vor Ort mit Ihrem Mitgliedsbeitrag.
Werden Sie jetzt aktiv!

JETZT MITGLIEDSCHAFT BEANTRAGEN

Unsere Gemeinden

Armenische Hl. Kreuz Kirche
Lerchenberger Str. 48, 73035 GÖPPINGEN

Pfarrbüro & Post:
Armenische Gemeinde Baden-Württemberg e.V.
Lerchenbergerstraße 52, 73035 Göppingen
Tel.: 07161/8084717; Fax: 07161/8084709
E-Mail: bw@dakd.de
www.agbw.org

Armenische Gemeinde Bebra e.V.
c/o Herr Jaraeir Khajo, Vorsitzender
Zum Fischerhof 13
36199 Rotenburg a. d. Fulda
Tel.: 06623 3009539
E-Mail: bebra@dakd.de

Kirche: Epiphanias-Kirche Vilsendorf
Vilsendorfer Straße 230, 33739 Bielefeld

Post: Armenische Gemeinde Bielefeld e.V.
c/o Anayit Turanoglu
Ennigerloherstr. 50, 59302 OELDE
Tel.: 02522/61484; Fax: 02522/8962036
E-Mail: bielefeld@dakd.de
www.armenier-bielefeld.de

Kirche: St. Michaelis
Echternstr. 12, 38100 BRAUNSCHWEIG

Post: Armenische Gemeinde Braunschweig e.V.
c/o Herrn Ohannes KALUSTIAN
Im Emmerfeld 31, 38122 BRAUNSCHWEIG
Tel.: 0531/85137
E-Mail: bs@dakd.de

Kirche: St. Pius Kirche
Willakedamm 6, 28259 BREMEN

Post: Armenische Gemeinde Bremen e.V.
Kirchhuchtinger Landstraße 137, 28259 BREMEN
Tel.: 0421/84001871
E-Mail: bremen@dakd.de

Post: Armenische Gemeinde im Ruhrgebiet (Duisburg) e.V.
c/o Herrn Matevos Davtyan
Schlägelstr. 67, 46045 Oberhausen
Tel:0157/83454518
E-Mail: duisburg@dakd.de

Kirche: Evang. Kirche
Pfarrstr. 5, 35435 Wettenberg

Post: Armenische Gemeinde Gießen e.V.
c/o Abraham ABRAHAMIAN
Schubertstr. 3, 35440 Linden
Tel.: 06403/71197
E-Mail: giessen@dakd.de
www.a-rm.de

Kirche: Wall.-Niederl. Kirche
Französiche Allee, 63450 HANAU

Pfarrbüro & Post:
Armenische Gemeinde Hessen e.V.
Langstr. 96-98, 63450 Hanau
E-Mail: hanau@dakd.de
www.a-rm.de

Kirche: St. Maria-Kirche
Heidenstraße 1, 77694 KEHL

Post: Armenische Gemeinde Kehl e.V.
Postfach 1126, 77621 KEHL
Tel.: 07851/72821
E-Mail: kehl@dakd.de

Armenische Kirche Surp Sahag-Mesrop
Allensteinerstr. 5, 50735 KÖLN

Post: Armenische Gemeinde Köln e.V.
Allensteiner Str. 5, 50735 KÖLN
Tel.: 0221/32018950
E-Mail: koeln@dakd.de
www.armenischegemeindekoeln.de

Kirche: Altmünsterkirche
Münsterstr. 25, 55116 MAINZ

Post: Armenische Gemeinde Mainz e.V.
c/o Herrn Zaven ASA
Goldbrunnengasse 7-9, 55116 Mainz
Tel.: 0176/3 254 53 05
E-Mail: mainz@dakd.de
www.a-rm.de

Kirche: St. Anna
Damenstiftstr. 1, 80331 MÜNCHEN

Post: Armenische Gemeinde München e.V.
c/o Frau Silva GHOKAS
Ichardinger Str. 45, 81671 München
Tel.: 089/68008180
E-Mail: muenchen@dakd.de

Kirche: St. Bonifatius
Kurt-Schumacher-Str. 3, 56567 NEUWIED

Post: Armenische Gemeinde Neuwied e.V.
Postfach 130206, 56534 NEUWIED
Tel.: 02632/934536
E-Mail: neuwied@dakd.de

Kirche: Christuskirche
Siemensplatz 2, 90443 NÜRNBERG

Post: Armenische Gemeinde Nürnberg e.V.
c/o Frau Dr. Margaret ASSOIAN-LINK
Am Vogelherd 2, 91080 UTTENREUTH
Tel.: 09131/54429, Fax: 09131/54677
E-Mail: nuernberg@dakd.de
www.armenier-nuernberg.de

Armenische Kirche Sb. Harutyun
Alfred-Reinhardt-Str. 8, 06132 HALLE/SAALE

Post: Armenische Gemeinde Sachsen-Anhalt e.V.
Alfred-Reinhardt-Str. 8, 06132 HALLE/SAALE
Tel.: 0345/5163022; Fax: 0345/5163024
E-Mail: halle@dakd.de

Kirche: Luisenkirche
Gierkeplatz 4, 10585 BERLIN-CHARLOT

Post: Armenische Kirchen- und Kulturgemeinde Berlin e.V.
Behaimstr. 22, 10585 BERLIN
Tel.: 030/34508607/8; Fax: 030/34508609
E-Mail: berlin@dakd.de
www.armenierberlin.de

Schreiben Sie uns