WARM WELCOME

The Armenian Church
in Germany introduces itself

Due to its turbulent history, the Armenian Apostolic Church is active all over the world, from the Middle East to Europe and America. It is now represented in over 70 countries. Armenian dioceses or bishoprics (Armenian: Them or Aradschnordutyun) exist in over 30 countries.

The Armenian Church in Germany is one of the youngest dioceses of our church. The largest are in the United States and Russia, followed by the dioceses of France and Georgia. They are all subordinate to the mother seat of the Armenian Church in St. Etchmiadzin.

CHURCH
CATHOLIC
DIOCESE
BISHOP

The diocese of the Armenian Church in Germany currently includes around 16 parishes in almost all federal states. We celebrate church services regularly in several cities. The seat of the bishop with the diocesan church is in Cologne. Depending on the size and structure of the congregation, the members of the Armenian Church meet, for example, for church services, events, Saturday or Sunday schools, etc. Find your congregation here:

communities

Organs of the Armenian Church in Germany

The Armenian Church in Germany is one of the diaspora diocese of the Armenian Church. In 1992, Vazgen I, the then Supreme Patriarch and Catholicos of All Armenians, also founded a diocese in the Federal Republic of Germany with its seat in Cologne through an official encyclical, which Archbishop Karekin Bekdjian presided over until 2018. After his retirement, Archimandrite Serovpe Isakhanyan was elected primate of the diocese.

On May 12, 2019, in Surb Etchmiadzin, His Holiness Karekin II, Catholicos of All Armenians, consecrated Bishop. 16 parishes and 5 clergy take care of the religious and cultural needs of the members of the Armenian Church in Germany. We look forward to welcoming you to one of our parishes.

The Bishop, as understood by the Armenian Apostolic Church, is a successor to the Apostles in the administration and service of the Church. He bears responsibility for maintaining the worldwide unity of the church by preserving the truth and unity of faith and practice in his own diocese.

The diocesan bishop is the official delegate of the Catholicos of All Armenians in Germany. Together with the secular chairman of the diocesan assembly of delegates or the chairman of the diocesan advisory board, he represents the diocese and the Armenian congregations affiliated with it towards the German state, political, church and religious institutions and towards the Republic of Armenia and its representatives in the Federal Republic of Germany.

The Diocesan Delegates Assembly (DDV) is the supreme legislative body of the diocese. It meets at least once a year. Members of the DDV are the primate, the diocesan delegates of the parishes, the chairmen of the parishes, the clergy of the diocese. Any member of the diocese can be elected as a DDV delegate after at least one year of membership.

Tasks and powers of the DDV include the election of the diocesan bishop, the decree and the amendment of the statutes of the diocese. For example, the DDV decides on the budget of the diocese and regulates the use of membership fees, etc.

The Diocesan Advisory Council (DB) is the executive body of the diocese. Its 9 to 11 secular and spiritual members are elected by the diocesan assembly of delegates for a 3-year term. The number of spiritual DB members, including primates, must not exceed one third of the total number of DB members. The diocesan council supports the primate and acts independently in society.

The Church Council consists of the clergy serving in the diocese. The Council oversees the unadulterated preservation of the doctrine and traditions of the Armenian Church within the diocese. He examines matters pertaining to spiritual life and its structure and development, and looks after the spiritual development of the diocese in general.

Become a member of our diocese now

Support the diocese and its parish with your membership fee. Get active now!

Apply for membership!

arrival

With line 16 in the direction of "Niehl / Sebastianstraße" get off at the "Nesselrodestraße" stop and turn left at the first street in the direction of travel of the train into Nesselrodestraße. After approx. 250 m turn right into Allensteiner Straße. The diocese is at the end of the street on the left.

Take bus line 147 to the "Weidenpescher Straße" stop. The stop is in the immediate vicinity of the diocese or diocesan church.

HERZLICH WILLKOMMEN

Die Armenische Kirche
in Deutschland stellt sich vor

Die Armenische Apostolische Kirche wirkt infolge ihrer bewegten Geschichte überall auf der Welt, vom Nahen Osten bis Europa und Amerika. Sie ist heute in über 70 Staaten vertreten. In über 30 Ländern existieren armenische Diözesen bzw. Bistümer (Armenisch: Them oder Aradschnordutyun).

Die Armenische Kirche in Deutschland ist einer der jüngsten Diözesen unserer Kirche. Die größten befinden sich in den USA und in Russland, gefolgt von den Diözesen in Frankreich und Georgien. Sie alle unterstehen dem Muttersitz der Armenischen Kirche im Hl. Etschmiadzin.

Organe der Armenischen Kirche in Deutschland

Die Armenische Kirche in Deutschland ist eine der Diasporadiözesen der Armenischen Kirche. Im Jahr 1992 hat Vazgen I., der damalige Oberste Patriarch und Katholikos Aller Armenier, durch eine offizielle Enzyklika auch eine Diözese in der Bundesrepublik Deutschland mit Sitz in Köln gegründet, der Erzbischof Karekin Bekdjian bis 2018 vorgestanden ist. Nach seiner Emeritierung wurde Archimandrit Serovpe Isakhanyan zum Primas der Diözese gewählt.

Am 12. Mai 2019 wurde der in Surb Etschmiadzin von Seiner Heiligkeit Karekin II., Katholikos Aller Armenier, zum Bischof geweiht. 16 Kirchengemeinden und 5 Geistliche sorgen für die religiösen und kulturellen Belange der Mitglieder der Armenischen Kirche in Deutschland. Wir freuen uns, auch Sie in einer unseren Kirchengemeinden begrüßen zu dürfen.

Der Bischof ist im Verständnis der Armenischen Apostolischen Kirche ein Nachfolger der Apostel in der Verwaltung und dem Dienst an der Kirche. Er trägt die Verantwortung für die Aufrechterhaltung der weltweiten Einheit der Kirche durch die Bewahrung der Wahrheit und Einheit des Glaubens und der Praktiken in der eigenen Diözese.

Der Diözesanbischof ist offizieller Delegierter des Katholikos Aller Armenier in Deutschland. Er repräsentiert die Diözese und die ihr angeschlossenen armenischen Gemeinden, gemeinsam mit dem weltlichen Vorsitzenden der Diözesandelegiertenversammlung oder mit dem Vorsitzenden des Diözesanbeirats, gegenüber den deutschen staatlichen, politischen, kirchlichen und religiösen Institutionen sowie gegenüber der Republik Armenien und deren Vertretern in der Bundesrepublik Deutschland.

Die Diözesan – Delegierten – Versammlung (DDV) ist das oberste legislative Organ der Diözese. Sie tagt mindestens einmal jährlich. Mitglieder der DDV sind der Primas, die Diözesandelegierten der Gemeinden, die Vorstandsvorsitzenden der Gemeinden, die Geistlichen der Diözese. Jedes Mitglied der Diözese kann, nach mindestens einem Jahr nach der Mitgliedschaft, als DDV-Delegierter gewählt werden.

Aufgaben und Befugnisse der DDV sind u.a. Wahl des Diözesanbischofs, der Erlass sowie Änderung der Satzung der Diözese. Die DDV beschließt beispielsweise den Haushaltsplan der Diözese und regelt die Verwendung der Mitgliedsbeiträge usw.

Der Diözesanbeirat (DB) ist das exekutive Organ der Diözese. Seine 9 bis 11 weltlichen und geistlichen Mitglieder werden durch die Delegiertenversammlung der Diözese, für eine 3-jährige Amtszeit, gewählt. Dabei darf die Anzahl der geistlichen DB-Mitglieder, inklusive Primas, ein Drittel der Gesamtmitgliederzahl des DB nicht übersteigen. Der Diözesanbeitat unterstützt den Primas und wirkt eigenverantwortlich in die Gesellschaft hinein.

Der Kirchenrat besteht aus den in der Diözese dienenden Geistlichen. Der Rat hat die Aufsicht über die unverfälschte Bewahrung der Lehre und der Traditionen der Armenischen Kirche innerhalb der Diözese. Er prüft Fragen, die das geistliche Leben und dessen Aufbau und Entwicklung betreffen und sorgt für die geistliche Entwicklung der Diözese im allgemeinen.

Werden Sie jetzt Mitglied unserer Diözese

Unterstützen Sie die Diözese und ihre Kirchengemeinde mit Ihrem Mitgliedsbeitrag. Werden Sie jetzt aktiv!

Anfahrt

Mit der Linie 16 in Richtung „Niehl / Sebastianstraße“ an der Haltestelle „Nesselrodestraße“ aussteigen und an der ersten Straße in Fahrtrichtung der Bahn links in die Nesselrodestraße abbiegen. Nach ca. 250 m weiter rechts in die Allensteiner Straße abbiegen. Die Diözese befindet sich am Ende der Straße auf der linken Seite.

Mit der Buslinie 147 bis zur Haltestelle „Weidenpescher Straße“ fahren. Die Haltestelle befindet sich in der unmittelbaren Nähe der Diözese bzw. Diözesankirche.